Golden Green Paella

15 Dec

2 tablespoons olive oil

8 ounces peel & deveined medium shrimp, coarsely chopped

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1 large onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup instant brown rice

1/2 teaspoon dried oregano, crushed

1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric

1 14 ounce can reduced-sodium chicken broth

8 ounces fresh sugar snap pea pods

1 large green sweet pepper, cut in 1/2 pieces

2 green onions, diagonally sliced

2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

Better Homes & Gardens

1. Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil over medium high heat in skillet.  Add shrimp; sprinkle with half the salt and pepper.  Cook 2 minutes until shrimp are opaque, stirring occasionally.  Remove from skillet and set aside.

2. Add remaining oil to skillet.  Cook onion until almost tender.  Add garlic; cook 1 minute.  Stir in rice, oregano and turmeric; cook and stir 1 minute.  Add broth and remaining salt and pepper.  Bring to boiling; reduce heat.  Simmer, covered, 5 minutes or until most of the liquid is absorbed and rice is tender.  Stir in peas and green pepper; cook 3 minutes.  Stir in green onions and shrimp.  Sprinkle with parsley.

I’ve been making this recipe for quite a while.  It’s quick and easy, yet every bite features a different flavor.  I love the crisp peas with the sweet shrimp.  A classic at my place.  I made this one for my boyfriend and my dad last night and my dad loved it (even though he is the pickiest eater in the world).   I never have instant rice around so I simply cook regular rice until almost tender and use that.  I also used organic vegetable broth and I didn’t think it made much difference.  I would recommend adding crushed red pepper flakes if you’re into the spicy stuff.

One Response to “Golden Green Paella”

  1. Dad December 15, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Had this for dinner last night… healthy and excellent!

Leave a Reply

